The Power of Visualization!

For a class we read the article “Visualizing a Technology and Heterogeneous Engineering: The Case of Portuguese Expansion by John Law” and the assignment was to make a presentation and lead the discussion in class. The content was very interesting and fairly easy to grasp but it was still a heavy read for me based on the very pure academic way that the article was written.

While reading, I realized that I would have understood it much better and faster if it was visualized, if it was a visual and tactile learning experience. So for the class presentation my study mate and I, we made study models and presented that in class with a bit of white boarding. I do want to mention that most of the material used to create this model was reclaimed. The content of the article I know I will not forget any time soon and worth mentioning is the fact that we had fun along the way!

 

Leave a Reply

